Shotty's first reloading attempt

Reloading info for the 5.7x28mm

Moderator: Grantness

Shotty

Shotty's first reloading attempt

Post by Shotty » 07 Nov 2022, 13:40

I am brand new to reloading and I am having some issues with my first attempt. My gun is the PSA Rock with about 600 rounds through it. I made 30 loads using once fired SS195LF and SS198LF brass. I am trying to emulate the SS197SR round using the following load specs. from LEE data for a 40 grain bullet.
True Blue 5.4 grains
OAL 1.580
40grain V-max bullet
CCI SRP benchrest primers (BR-4) the only ones I could find at the moment.
All tools used to produce them were LEE
Full length sized and trimmed to 1.134 finished with a very light crimp.
I could not find a 5.7x28 gauge anywhere. However I just ordered one directly from Sheridon today to use from here on out.
I shot only 10 of the 30 loads because out of the ten I had three FTF's. I cycled each of the FTF's a second time and they still did not fire. I came back home and after taking the pictures I have posted, I pulled the FTF's apart. Ten more attempts to get the primer to fire on the first one and still it would not fire. 5 attempts on the second one and it finally fired. I did not attempt to fire the third one. One thing I noticed in the pictures is the bright ring on the shoulders of each round. Possibly the krappy Lee dies are not moving the shoulder down quite enough? Would that even cause a FTF? Any help is appreciated.

towerofpower93

Re: Shotty's first reloading attempt

Post by towerofpower93 » 08 Nov 2022, 03:42

Sounds like you didn't bump the shoulder back far enough, leading to the round not fully chambering. The failure to fire is a good thing as you may have been slightly out of battery. The one that you cycled a bunch of times before it fired may have been just a bit too long, and the repeated cycling into the chamber may have bashed the shoulder back just enough.