PDA

View Full Version : Solution for Dillon 550 reloading


CableTech
11-27-2005, 05:02 AM
I have been experimenting with my Dillon 550 and have found a solution for reloading 5.7
I am using a Dillon shellplate for the 50AE. Part number 50.
With the plate flipped upside down, (yes--upside down--) the RCBS shellholder #45 fits right in. Holding it in place with a #7 Dillon locator button.
It works like a charm with an exception to pressing the primers in, which I do by hand.
I am also using the powder funnel for a .223 Dillon part #A.

This works for me, but there is a downfall.
It does not function this way as a progressive press as I do each step one at a time. But it eliminates having to purchase another press if you already own the 550.
Good thing is that your dies stay "set" unlike single stage.
Just thought I'd share my discovery with you guys.

Happy reloading!

Clayton Moore
11-27-2005, 08:03 AM
how do you de-prime? do you use one of those lee depriming punch / base setup with a hammer or ?????

you use a hand priming tool & do a bunch of cases at once? and you reprime them before running thru the sizer die (w/depriming stem removed)?

when you are loading do you manually remove the finished cartridge from station #4?

I assume you would also leave out that little loop of rod (that kicks out the loaded rounds on the 550) so the shellplate can go around and around with the RCBS shellholders in 'em?

how much would 4 RCBS shellholders cost?

CableTech
11-27-2005, 06:05 PM
how do you de-prime? do you use one of those lee depriming punch / base setup with a hammer or ?????

you use a hand priming tool & do a bunch of cases at once? and you reprime them before running thru the sizer die (w/depriming stem removed)?

when you are loading do you manually remove the finished cartridge from station #4?

I assume you would also leave out that little loop of rod (that kicks out the loaded rounds on the 550) so the shellplate can go around and around with the RCBS shellholders in 'em?

how much would 4 RCBS shellholders cost?


Do not resize after you reprime.

I deprime and resize all my casings in one step(with the decapping pin in place).
*Remember to lube your casings before resizing*

For once fired mil brass you will want to ream the crimps from the primer pocket after this step.

I do not "reprime" with the 550. I use the RCBS hand primer and prime my lot of brass in a seperate step.

Move the shellplate with the shell holder to station 2 and charge the casings, rotate the shellplate to station 3 and press in the bullet.
I only use 1 shell holder as I do each step individually. (Resize/Deprime, ream primer pockets, reprime by hand, charge all casings, press bullets in.)

As I mentioned earlier, this method is more like single stage.
Yes, I manually remove the finished casing from station 3.

Not sure how much the RCBS #45 shell holders are...I think around 5-6 bucks.

**Edit** Sry I had previously named the station locations wrong.

grammaton76
04-11-2007, 04:20 PM
Digging this one up from the grave here... but, just to let folks know, I received my 50AE kit this morning for my 650, and this approach didn't work.

Dillon went and changed the recommended shellplate for 50AE recently, so I suspect that whatever shellplate Cabletech is using is different from the one I received.

I do own a Desert Eagle too, so it's not like I'm out anything for having done this. Just letting folks know that since Dillon seems to have changed some stuff, it looks like we get to change some stuff.

Cabletech - if you're still around, is "50" what's marked on the shellplate? Do you know what Dillon SKU number your plate was? It should be a five digit number according to brianenos.com...

btown02
04-11-2007, 04:40 PM
Welcome to the forum. He hasen't been back to the forum since Nov 28, 2005, so good luck with a response.

grammaton76
04-11-2007, 05:08 PM
Welcome to the forum. He hasen't been back to the forum since Nov 28, 2005, so good luck with a response.

Thanks for the welcome. I mostly just wanted to let folks know not to buy the same 50AE shellplate I did, unless they actually want to reload 50ae. But I'd love to get an answer that'd let me do what I was hoping to do in the first place...

Oh, this may be relevant or may not... I'm actually using a 650, not a 550.